Choosing My Shoes: AKA “That Was Easy”

Originally I was sure I had to have special “I’m-a-Bride-It’s-My-Wedding-Day” shoes. Ideally they were going to be sparkly gold ones that would be almost too fancy for any other outfit.

Like the Kate Spade Charm Gold (Platinum) Glitter Pump

via Style Me Pretty

charm1

via Ruffled

Or these other solid gold glitter shoes…

via BHLDN

Or at least white or ivory shoes with a lot of personality. Like maybe a pair with polka dots and gold accents….or ostrich feather accents!

Like these polka dot heels with gold bows…

via BHLDN

Or this sassy pair of slingbacks…

ks feather

Kate Spade via 6pm.com

But, I realized the answer was in my own closet all along. I had purchased the Nina Devera shoes in the red/orchid option to match a red dress I wore to our Best Man’s wedding two years ago. Fun fact: Theo was his Best Man too!

nina devera

Here are some pictures of them in real life too!

They are a perfect match to the colors of our wedding (red, fuchsia and gold) and the orchid  suede was a perfect match to the “watermelon” dupioni fabric that the bridesmaids dresses will be ordered in which helped solve this fashion dilemma.

The one shoe accessory I am planning to buy? Shoe clips. They are basically hair bows for your shoes. I am pretty sure that I will purchase these jeweled bow shoe clips from Dessy and give them a try, although I might need to fabric dye them if the ivory shows too much.

shoe clips

via Dessy

Hopefully the final look will resemble something like this gorgeous pair:

shoe bows

via 

I took them on two different occasions to try on dresses because I figured I would wear something with a similar heel height, but the day I actually bought my dress I took them along so they could determine how short my dress needs to be because I decided they would be my wedding day shoes (fun fact: my dress is being custom-made 9″ shorter than the standard length!) Another reason I chose shoes I already own (besides I realized they hit all of the check marks?) was because my dress was quite a bit over budget (about 33% over!). Since I budgeted about $200 for a dreamy pair of wedding day heels this helped me not feel so bad about the cost of my dress (before alterations no less!) and save in an area I was expecting to be over budget in. (I was originally planning to break the $200 shoe budget and spend over $300 on the Kate Spade gold shoes featured at the beginning of this post!)

What shoes did you choose for your wedding day? Were they a pair you already owned or something special for the occasion? Did you save or splurge?

Leave a Reply

