Choosing my Wedding Day Scent

I found out to my own surprise, I am SUPER picky about perfume. I would have never guessed it would be so complicated to find. I got lucky with most of my makeup on the first try for it to be the perfect thing I was looking for. Maybe perfume is a much more personal thing.

Anyways, I went in search of my wedding day scent one day with Tina when we went makeup shopping and the three top contenders were:

Viva La Juicy by Juicy Couture

vlj

Daisy by Marc Jacobs

daisy

Miss Dior Blooming Bouquet

bloom

Upon letting Theo sniff the paper swatches from Sephora, he immediately ruled out my favorite, the Viva La Juicy. He said it smelled too much like my best friend Tina.

My next good idea was to take Theo with me the next time we looked for perfume. We sampled a ton of options at a different Sephora location and…forgot the pen (to label the paper swatches). The time I went with Tina I made the smart decision to write the perfume name on each of the swatches.

The ones we likes together were:

Jimmy Choo Blossom

Live Colorfully by Kate Spade

*actually at Saks Fifth Avenue, not available at Sephora*

Omnia by Bulgari Indian Garnet

Dolce by Dolce and Gabbana

Carven

*actually at Saks Fifth Avenue, not available at Sephora*

Midnight Romance by Ralph Lauren

Midnight Romance by Ralph Lauren ended up being the final winner. At this point price wasn’t a concern and I was just trying to find what smelled “like me” and would be a special reminder of our wedding day. Luckily, the one we chose was one of the less expensive options. We decided it smelled sexy and mature but still fruity and fresh. Since high school I’ve been a huge fan of Ralph by Ralph Lauren. It smells young and fruity-fresh. Theo always liked it too. I wanted something that reminded me of it….but also made me feel like “Sadie, Sadie Married Lady”–grown up and old enough to be getting married, but still my young, sweet self.

What scent did you wear on your wedding day? How did it make you feel?

Leave a Reply

