What It’s Really Like to Register

Months ago I completed the “Master Registry List” and then I had Theo go over it with me and we discussed which ones we really wanted and what we would really like to replace.

For instance, we currently have some missing, broken and melted-by-dishwasher set of plastic measuring spoons and measuring cups. I’m pretty sure I purchased them in college at Wal*Mart for under $5.00. We definitely wanted to replace those with metal versions. Another example was although our 1970s Crockpot works perfectly fine, (I bought it at a garage sale for $3.00) it’s not very big and because of its age it makes me a little nervous about electrical malfunction–especially to leave it on if we won’t be home.

My best friend and Matron of Honor Tina, told me registering would be so fun and I was really hoping she was right. After I had spent weeks preparing the list of what we should register for I was almost exhausted just thinking about it.

Theo and I made a day out of it and registered at two stores on the same day. We even planned a meal in between to keep us full. Since the first would be a quick(er) stop I figured it wouldn’t be a problem even though I had read that going to multiple places in one day was not the best idea. Word of advice? Don’t go to two places in the same day, but definitely take your checklist with you. Mine was an Excel Spreadsheet of everything we wanted to look for. I had also done some pre-registering online and I printed both of those lists out.

First we went to Pottery Barn *side note: I ended up deleting this registry*. Most of things we wanted could only be purchased in store and/or didn’t have tags on them in the store for us to scan them. The store was also SUPER limited as far as inventory and didn’t give us many options to look at. Ultimately, I setup an Amazon registry for us and anything from Pottery Barn we really loved was placed on there through their “Universal Registry” option.

POTTERY BARN:

We were there for about an hour, the highlight was Theo found a furry blanket he loved and kept wanting to pet. I kept telling him if he loved it so much, to just scan it and put it on the list. The thing I really liked there was their “Caterers Set” glassware and silverware. The silverware matched what I already had from Oneida and had a similar weight to it (I like silverware with clean lines and a nice heaviness to them). [I knew how similar they were because I brought a set of my own in my purse! Haha!] At Pottery Barn we didn’t really use the checklist, we mostly walked from one area to the next because as I explained, we had only limited choices for everything.

PIADA:

Following that, we went to a late lunch/ early dinner at Piada. It was my first time there and my first time trying fried calamari…I loved it!

piada

After Piada we went to Bed, Bath and Beyond. I had already created a good-sized online with them of things I knew we wanted but I also wanted to see a lot of things in person to make a final decision.

BED, BATH, and BEYOND:

We sat and waited a decent amount of time before one of the wedding registry consultants was able to help us even though I had made an appointment. She gave us a bag full of catalogs and different tech savvy registry tools to help us decide on things. I clarified that I had already set up a registry with them online and we had done this at another store (Pottery Barn) already so we were comfortable just taking the scanner gun and running with it. She let us go at it on our own…..and things got very disorganized very quickly. We just walked from one section to the next, like we had at Pottery Barn, but Bed, Bath and Beyond was SO much bigger and had so many more options than Pottery Barn that we were wishing it was more limited.  After about 15 minutes, Theo begged me to pull out the list I had. We are both so glad I had it because it helped streamline things a lot. However, after we made it halfway through the store he was completely bored with shopping. I kept asking ….can we just look at one more thing….(bath mats, bedding, sheets, etc.)? After an hour of trying to keep getting one more thing done..we were both completely whipped and decided to go home.

This was one thing I found on our way out (after we had returned the scanner gun) that I just loved so I needed a picture of it to make sure I added it later at home.

Over the next couple weeks I referenced the old registries of friends to see what other people liked and added items based on things I missed or thought was better than what I had originally registered for. I also visited a different location and took the time to see certain everyday smaller items in person and choose the ones that would be best for us, mostly cooking utensils like spatulas.

What was your registry experience like? Awesome? Overwhelming? Or somewhere in between?

 

Late edit (January 2016):

We are VERY pleased with the Bed, Bath and Beyond registry system. We received a Christmas gift from our registry and it was great, until the second time we used it and one of the knobs/switches broke off completely. [SAD FACE.] We packed it back up and they let us exchange it no questions asked and gave us the original gift receipt back if anything happens to this one!  [TOOTHY GRIN SMILEY FACE!!] Here are some photos of us using it before the switch to open the plates to the flat “griddle” position broke off:

Leave a Reply

