Cupcake Tasting: The Results

This is the sample pack Christy provided us with, as requested.

I picked these up the day of our engagement-anniversary and we tasted them the day after (on Thanksgiving) with my parents. I apologize for no photos of the actual cut-into cupcakes, we were on a crunch for time but I have whole cupcake photos from before we began.

Not sure if I mentioned this before, but her tastings had 2 options:

6 cupcakes: 2 each of 3 flavors for $10 OR 12 cupcakes: 2 each of 6 flavors for $20, if you book with her that money goes towards your cake purchase.

We went with the 6 flavor option and I’m so glad we did!

We started with the Vanilla cupcake with Vanilla frosting. It was delicious!! It’s a moist cake with a nice frosting. It’s the classic “yellow cake” and ended up being everyone’s favorite across the board.

Next we tasted the Pineapple Upside Down: This was a pineapple cake with some pineapple pieces and a cherry in traditional brown sugar-butter sauce for a Pineapple Upside Down cake. It also had a brown sugar frosting.

This was delicious…..but SO messy. We figured our guests wouldn’t appreciate the balancing act involved with eating this without getting it all over yourself. The pineapples and cherry in the sugar-butter liquid was SO good but almost syrupy and was running everywhere. If the contest was based on flavor exactly as they were alone, this would have been the “fruit” choice. The frosting on this was by far one of my favorites but at the time we couldn’t figure out what it was, later I realized it was brown sugar!

Next, we tried the other “fruit” option:

The Lemon Strawberry: this was a Lemon cake with pink Strawberry frosting.

This was my least favorite because I really did not like the frosting, it was runny and tasted VERY artificial. Everyone else loved how lemony the cake was but at the time of tasting I couldn’t get past the taste of the frosting. When I retasted it at home, I scraped the frosting off and also noticed how nice the lemon cake was–it had a fresh burst of lemony flavor.

Next, we tried the two chocolate and peanut butter options: first up, the Butterfinger cupcake. This was a chocolate cupcake with Butterfinger crumbs baked in. The frosting was a peanut butter frosting with tons of crushed Butterfinger in it and some more sprinkled on top.

This was my personal favorite but I’ll admit I’m a little Butterfinger crazy. The frosting was so butterfinger-y and sweet it was overpowering according to the others. For me though….I could probably eat a bucket of that frosting.

Next, we tried the Chocolate-Covered Peanut Butter cupcake. This one was definitely the more subtle of the two peanut butter-chocolate options, with a chocolate cupcake topped with peanut butter frosting and dipped in hard chocolate shell. The shell made it pretty and it had a nice texture contrast, but as I cut it into quarters for us to sample it, I realized the chocolate shell was even hard to cut through with a knife.

At home I did a “bite test” to see if after so many bites the frosting blows out of the shell, upon my Dad’s recommendation. It did not pass,— by bite 4 it was a huge mess and it took me about 5-6 bites to eat it all. Obviously, we don’t want our guests to have to deal with that.

The results of my “Bite Test” are below…clearly very scientific 😉

ONE BITE IN…One bite did not break through the shell, my mouth was not big enough to get into the cupcake and the shell at the same time.

TWO BITES IN… cut through the chocolate shell

THREE BITES IN… major frosting shifting

FOUR BITES IN… was a complete frosting blowout and I don’t have a picture because I was trying to catch it before it fell on the floor where Teddy was eagerly waiting to catch a mouth full of frosting.

FIVE and more bites… shoving the cupcake in my mouth because it was falling apart all over the place.

The last cupcake we tasted was the Triple Chocolate cupcake.

This one was not as moist as the other two chocolate cupcakes but we loved the little fudge pocket in the center! It was definitely the prettiest cupcake of the group and was SUPER chocolately, it was a chocolate cupcake with chocolate frosting, a fudge center and mini chocolate chips on top.

So our final cupcake order was:

For our personal mini wedding cake: Lemon cake with Vanilla Frosting in a cute swiss dot/ hobnail pattern!

whiteweddingcake

Cupcakes: Vanilla Frosting on Vanilla Cake, Vanilla Frosting on Lemon Cake (with a real Strawberry slice) and Peanut Butter Frosting on Chocolate Cake (we omitted the chocolate shell).

Do you think we made the right choice? Would you have picked other options from the original cupcake post?

Leave a Reply

